Shaderlight

Novice questions on lighting

eddiemafa
Total Posts: 8

I apologize for the coming dumb questions but I am a novice at Shaderlight.

I am trying to render a scene from the outside but would like to see part of the interior of the building as well. I know that for achieving that I will have to place some simulated light inside.

I did that but am not being able to see the exterior and the iluminated interior at the same time. If I set the Lighting control at Physical Sky I do not see the interior and if I set it to Artificial Light Only I do not see the exterior. As far as I know, I should be able to see both situations. I must be doing something wrong.

Is there a way to see both at the same time? How? Or would I have to make two renders and combine them in postprocessing?

Thanks for the help.

Edson

awaddington
Total Posts: 390

Hi Edson,

This is a common question.

The issue is the contrasts between the intensity of the sun compared to the interior lighting.

As the exterior dims (or interior brightens), the interior will become more prominent.

In general, make certain you have skylight portals on all of your windows (this ensures the correct amount of sunlight enters the room) and make sure you have enough light inside. 

A handy rule of thumb is to multiply the square feet of your room by 0.01587—this will tell you the number of point lights set at 125 candella you will need to simulate the light of an average living room. ad a couple extra lights fpr brighter rooms, but that is agood starting point.

This may still look dark in contrast to the sun, but will be realistic.

There are other settings and tips for both Sketchup and Shaderlight that may help but, I cannot provide specific advice without more information.  If you can send a screenshot of your scene, settings and information about how you are lighting the interior (number/type of lights and their settings) and a render of your scene, that will help significantly.

Good luck!

eddiemafa